Ricochet Roy’s Old West is pleased and honored to sponsor The Cowboys “Spirit Of The Game” Award, which is held at every monthly match and at their two annual matches. The Cowboys SOTG Award began back in the summer of 2013 when Ricochet Roy was first inspired while reading the Single Action Shooting Society’s ® SOTG definition which is posted on their web site at www.sassnet.com.

Back in the summer of 2013 Roy brought his idea of The SOTG Award to The Cowboys Board of Directors and it was soundly approved. At each match, civilian secret judges enlisted by Ricochet Roy observe, judge and score match competitors on three main categories:

No. 1: their costuming

No. 2: how well they work with their posse

No. 3: their general old west demeanor

Judges score their nominees up to 100 points for each of the 3 categories. The judges then meet after each match to compile their nominations and scores to select a winner. All match competitors are judged equally regardless of age and shooting category. Judges may add bonus points for an outstanding display of honesty, assisting new shooters, acts of kindness, etc.

To date, the The Cowboys SOTG Award winners are as follows:

  • U.K. Dane
  • Cherokee Ken
  • Creedmore Walker
  • D.A.B.S.
  • Helen Highwater
  • Orion Red
  • Cheritea Rose
  • Colonel Angus
  • Solvang Shootist
  • William Travis
  • Smokestack
  • Yellow Bomber
  • Captain Jake Cutter
  • Callin Yewout
  • Double Scotch
  • Choctaw Gal
  • Ivory Jack McCloud – R.I.P. March 23, 2019
  • Whirlwind Wendy
  • Tapatio
  • Muleskinner
  • Ruby Jewel
  • Tupelo Flash
  • Jokers Wild
  • John Ringo
  • Calamity Annie
  • Razorback Red
  • Double Scotch (two-time recipient)
  • Colonel Angus (two-time recipient)
  • Sassy Kitty

Congratulations to you all, each of you are an outstanding inspiration to Cowboy Action Shooters ® all over the world.